top of page

The troubles of waiting for a job and how to deal with it.

Updated: Dec 6, 2022




As I write this, it's been exactly eleven months since I graduated from college with a degree in Computer Science and Engineering and if you're reading this, then you're probably going through that 'when would I get a job' phase. Or you just want to know about what I'm going through.

Either way, glad to have you on board.


I don't know what you studied in college or what jobs you're applying for, but no matter what field, it's usually by 'luck' that you'd get a job in this time; at least that's what I'm told. Personally, I don't believe in luck, I believe in God and His perfect timing but it's ok if you're not spiritual.


Trying to find a job is the easy part. You find a job with a description that matches what you're searching for and you click on the 'apply' button, no need to waste time thinking about it, and then repeat it for about a thousand and one times...every day.


It's the waiting that's the hard part. Waiting and waiting and waiting for an email that isn't auto-generated and then having to prep for the online tests and whatnot. If you're applying for a non-engineering position then you're either short-listed just with a resume and all you need to do is prep for the interview.

Well in my case, you'd have to write a test which is usually logical, verbal, and numerical all wrapped in one. Then the part which I don't very much like, the programming part of the test.


You're probably thinking 'Oh Jane, you're a Computer Science student, you're supposed to know programming'.


I do. Just not the ones they want me to know.


Unlike a lot of my colleagues, I didn't study programming before college, so I had zero knowledge until I got to college and it was fun and draining, trying to find my way around it. So, it wasn't until late that I discovered that I loved the front-end and not the back-end.


Lol, you're probably wondering what that is.


I'm not going to stray too far but let me explain real quick. Think of a website, Shopify for example, the part where you get to see as the user is the front-end, and the part where you don't see is the back-end which is where most of the work is done.


Got it? Good. Also good if you don't.


So, I learned late that front-end is what I wanted to do and that was when I started delving deep into it and learning as much as I could to make me qualified enough to apply for and hopefully get jobs in said field. Because apparently, getting a degree to learn stuff doesn't mean you learn all the stuff you need to.


Now, the interview which comes after writing the tests and getting short-listed...for the second time. To be honest, prepping for the interview is kind of the part I like. It's like getting to know yourself from a professional standpoint and I enjoy it. If you're new to interviews, then you'd probably have to kind of study (yuck) for it. Probably by reading articles that give pointers and the most effective way is by watching youtube videos which have helped me and still are.


The only part I don't really like about prepping for an interview is having to research the company. I'm a writer, I love research but this research...I don't like. Only because during the research most times, I discover that I'm probably not the right fit for the company and I'm sort of let down by that. I mean, it would be great if I got the job and got trained to be the right fit. But then I always think someone more qualified than me deserves the position more than I do (and there goes the self-sabotage...lol).


There are down days in all of that process and it's ok. I applied for hundreds of jobs every day except Sundays which I call my 'off-day'. But there were days that I just didn't feel like it and just stayed in bed, beneath my blanket, that's ok too. You're going to have those days and it's just your body and mind's way of taking a break from something that is clearly causing you distress just so you can replenish your energy and get back to it in a day or two (maybe a week).


There are also going to be people, mostly family, who... (how do I put this nicely?) ...are constantly on your case. I mean, we all know it's coming from a place of care and concern but sometimes I just wish they'd all not care and concern themselves with my lack of job.


Also, the one part that's a struggle is finding things to add to your resume and keeping it updated, which means self-study and attending online seminars or workshops. I'm still trying to build my skills in the front-end part of things, so online courses, paid and free have been keeping me busy.


Speaking of keeping busy. That's one way to get out of the spell of being down, stressed and worried about the whole job situation. Always try to find something to do, if it's a hobby, just something that you enjoy that makes you feel like you've achieved something for the day.


And if you're spiritual; Prayer ALWAYS helps.


Having a quiet time with God, and just telling Him about your day and all the feelings you felt and asking him for guidance and peace in your worry and your waiting helps a whole lot. If you felt angry about something or there was a time where you decided to trust in your ability instead of in Him, tell Him EVERYTHING and feel his presence and peace wash over you.


I discovered this podcast, that's now part of my daily routine, last year. It's a daily devotional that Christians and Non-Christians can listen to. I say this because I personally think there are messages hidden in this podcast that everyone, despite their religion needs to hear. It's called the Mornings with the Masters by Chad and Tori Masters. Although I have two older siblings, Chad and Tori are sort of like siblings that give advice without you asking for it but exactly when you need it.


This podcast has been a huge help in not just my spiritual life but my life in general. I've gotten through tough days of being down about my lack of job and a lot of negative feelings. I hope you check it out by clicking the link.


Well, that's it!


Remember everything happens for a reason and this season of wait is your season of growth.


Lots of Love, Jane Lanett.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page