top of page

Upcoming Wattpad Writer - 1: FIGURING OUT A PLOT

Updated: Dec 6, 2022



If you're new here, welcome to my website/blog and if you aren't then welcome once again!


Most of you are here from Wattpad and I have to say, I've been wanting to do a piece on this for so long now. So, without wasting any more time, let's get to it.


 

I started writing on Wattpad in 2016 and initially, I was equally a reader as well as a writer. I was still trying to figure out a lot of things as a new writer on a new platform and it took me five novels to really find my voice.


There are a lot of upcoming writers I've come across on Wattpad, like you maybe, struggling to get their works out there and doubting their writing ability and a lot of other things which I plan on addressing. One thing I have to say is: 'Be patient.' I know you've probably heard that a thousand times but really, it takes a lot of time, effort and consistency to get to where you want to go.


FIGURING OUT A PLOT.

Here is one thing I've noticed a lot of upcoming writers lacking. Believe me, it's really ok, it's actually great. Why; you ask?

Well, because no one starts off writing the perfect story or novel. We all have to start from somewhere and it's wonderful that you've taken the first step, the initiative to writing something that's yours.


Needless to say, I'm not the perfect writer. But every book I've written, every chapter makes me better than the last one. Practice and consistency do make a perfect pair.


There are lots of ways to figure out the plot of your story and it's up to you to figure out which way to go. It took me seven books to figure out a great plot and even then it wasn't perfect. I had a lot of my readers call me out on things I'd missed out or changed about a character and I embrace those kinds of comments, I actually encourage it of my readers because it makes me a better writer.


When an idea for a story hits me, I paint a picture in my head (a movie, more like). I go to my notepad app and immediately jot down a summary of what that's like and from there I start developing my characters, giving them features and mannerisms (something I just started doing).

There are some writers who plan out each of every chapter of their book which is not something I do. Rather, I have milestones arranged in an order that I want the story to progress. So, we have the beginning and the end of the story, and then we have every single milestone or important moment of the story leading up from the beginning to the end.


Having these important moments help me while writing. I don't just write aimlessly. I write chasing the first milestone in the book and as I do so, I show the character's traits amongst other things. Remember, it's the beginning of the story, you don't want to confuse the readers, but you want to pique their interest, so, leave some things to make the readers wonder.


Make sure your characters have background stories which you may talk about in the story or have something from their past affect their present, subtle things like that. If your character has a family, go to your notepad and create a family tree with names along with family members that add to the storyline, like a funny 'uncle Joe' or 'crazy aunt Jenna' to spice things up a bit.


Remember, you're chasing milestones. It takes me two to three chapters or five at most to reach a milestone and then from there I start to chase the next milestone. That's why I enjoy writing. I have all these tidbits of moments in my head and plotting the storyline from one moment to another is so incredible. I have no idea what my next chapter is going to be like or what scene it is or, not to talk of what my characters are going to talk about or be feeling. It's a surprise to me and an incredible journey.


For writers who plot every chapter before they write, I guess the plan is more laid out for you, making it smooth sailing from there to drafting it out. Easier said than done, right?


Anyway, as for your first draft, editing and all of that extra stuff, I'll talk about it in my next post. I hope you'll be there to continue what we've started here.


Till then, stay safe and dream big.


Lots of love, Jane Lanett.

56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page